Masters of American Cookery

Masters of American Cookery

$29.95

In stock
0 out of 5

$29.95

SKU: 9780803269200 Categories: , , ,
Title Range Discount
Trade Discount 5 + 25%

Description

Ever since American soldiers returned home after World War II with a passion for pâté and escargots instead of pork and beans, our preferences have moved from cooked to raw, from canned to fresh, from bland to savory, from water to wine. And guiding us through our culinary revolution have been four of the world’s finest food experts: Julia Child, Craig Claiborne, James Beard, and M. F. K. Fisher.
 
In Masters of American Cookery, Betty Fussell demonstrates vividly how each of these chefs has made a unique and invaluable contribution to the American way of cooking and eating. In more than two hundred recipes—in chapters on appetizers, soups, salads, sauces, meats, poultry, fish, breads, cheeses and wines, and desserts—Fussell shares the artistry of these culinary masters. She also traces the evolution of each dish and provides insightful, often witty asides about the origins of the recipes.
 
In the tradition of Waverley Root and M. F. K. Fisher herself, Fussell has combined elements of history, memoir, and the cookbook to create a food lover’s delight. As entertaining as it is instructive, Masters of American Cookery belongs on the bookshelf of anyone who cares about good food. Fussell provides a preface for this Bison Books edition.
Betty Fussell is the author of ten books, ranging from biography to cookbooks, memoir, and food history, including The Story of Corn. Her volume of memoirs, My Kitchen Wars, was performed as a one-woman show in New York and Los Angeles.
“Fussell’s book enters a highly competitive arena and I must say ‘Thumbs Up.'”—Los Angeles Times
“[Fussell’s] book profiles the gastronomic giants and gives 200 of her recipes inspired by them.”—USA Today

Additional information

Weight 1 oz
Dimensions 1 × 6 × 9 cm