In the Company of Ogres

In the Company of Ogres

$7.99

In stock
0 out of 5

$7.99

SKU: 9780765354570 Categories: , , , ,
Title Range Discount
Trade Discount 5 + 25%

Description

An uproarious new novel in the tradition of Robert Asprin and Terry Pratchett!

For someone who’s immortal, Never Dead Ned manages to die with alarming frequency–he just has the annoying habit of rising from the grave. But this soldier might be better dead than face his latest assignment.

Ogre Company is the legion’s dumping ground–a motley, undisciplined group of monsters whose leaders tend to die under somewhat questionable circumstances. That’s where Ned’s rather unique talents come in. As Ogre Company’s newly appointed commander, Ned finds himself in charge of such fine examples of military prowess as a moonstruck Amazon, a very big (and very polite) two-headed ogre, a seductively scaly siren, a blind oracle who can hear (and smell) the future, a suicidal goblin daredevil pilot, a walking tree with a chip on its shoulder, and a suspiciously goblinesque orc.

Ned has only six months to whip the Ogre Company into shape or face an even more hideous assignment, but that’s not the worst of his problems. Because now that Ned has found out why he keeps returning from dead, he has to do everything he can to stay alive. . . .

In the Company of Ogres does for fantasy, what A. Lee Martinez’s previous novel, Gil’s All Fright Diner, did for horror–and elves and goblins may never be the same!

A. Lee Martinez lives in Terrell, Texas. Martinez received the American Library Association’s Alex Award for his first novel, Gil’s All Fright Diner.

“Martinez’s follow-up to Gil’s All Fright Diner is as joyfully fast paced and funny. Ogre Company tweaks fantasy clichés most excellently.” —Booklist on In the Company of Ogres“Martinez’s broad humor should appeal to fans of the late Douglas Adams and other contemporary authors of comic fantasy.” —Library Journal on In the Company of Ogres“[A] terrific debut. . . . Fans of Douglas Adams will happily sink their teeth into this combo platter of raunchy laughs and ectoplasmic ecstasy.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Gil’s All Fright Diner“Do you know a young man twelve to seventeen years old who hates reading? Then this is the book for him!” —Voices of Youth Advocates on Gil’s All Fright Diner“Can a vampire find true love with a ghost? Can a teenage witch open the gates of Hell? Anything can happen in Martinez’s wacky debut.” —Charlaine Harris, bestselling author of Dead to the World on Gil’s All Fright Diner

Additional information

Dimensions 1 × 4 × 170 cm